The New Beginning

It’s been a few weeks now since I’ve officially ended my service with Peace Corps and it’s taken me this long to process that this chapter of my life has come to an end. Quite honestly, I’m still processing and I probably will be for a while. I guess that’s what happens when you open your heart to an experience or a place or people – you’re changed forever and the journey leaves an indelible imprint on your soul. There are moments I feel sick to my stomach at the thought of having walked away from one of the most beautiful places I have ever known. The pain of separation overcomes me and I ache at the thought of all I left behind. But as the most kindred to me know, “There is no way to both stay and go.” 

And to go was the choice I made, to begin a journey of another order, eternally grateful to have been seen off by some of the most genuine of spirits I’ve ever come across. We laughed, we (I) cried, and we learned Ticky’s magic broom trick. I can only hope that the people who I’ve connected with in the last two years have an idea of how profoundly they shaped and enriched my time in St. Vincent.

With any ending comes a new beginning and now I’m back in DC stepping one foot in front of the other, searching for something that I’m not even sure exists yet. I’ve promised to let my intuition guide me, but often I find it making me dizzy; this path has been full of twists and turns as I try to navigate my way through the Unknown. But I’m a firm believer that when you follow your heart, you can never make a wrong decision… After all, that’s what led me to the Peace Corps, and it opened my eyes to the world in a way I could never have imagined. Gratitude seems insufficient for something that’s changed my life so completely, but the humility of thanks has been one of the biggest lessons I’ve learned. So to everyone who’s been a part of it all, those who have followed my stories from near and far, and to all who have supported this dream, it has meant so much to me and I will never forget what it has taught me and helped me to do. From the very bottom of my heart …

Thank You.

Love,

Camille

RPCV St. Vincent and the Grenadines ’10-’12

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Olivia Blumenfeld
    Aug 23, 2012 @ 18:02:58

    Good luck with whatever you decide to pursue next. Care to be an intern in the white house or senate? Fight for women’s rights? You are a great writer, journalism maybe? We enjoyed reading your articles and we hope you keep us posted.

    Sent from my iPad

    Reply

  2. Michael
    Feb 05, 2013 @ 17:08:28

    They say follow your heart, but make sure you carry along your brain (no pun intended). Must have been a heck of an experience.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2010-2012 Camille Aragon

All Rights Reserved

