i heart yoga art

Last year I wrote a post about how Bob Marley’s song No Woman No Cry got me through a difficult time while I wandered through the Botanical Gardens near Kingstown. This song has become a sort of anthem for me during my time in St. Vincent as I return to it whenever I need to be reassured that Everything’s gonna be alright. It’s certainly one of the most beloved songs to have ever come out of the Caribbean, and the people’s reverence of Bob Marley’s lasting legacy is really quite humbling. A few weeks ago Sheridon said to me, “Teacher Camille, in school we learned that Bob Marley was a peace maker. I want to be like him and make peace too.”

The video below was created as a personal expression of the song’s message. Along with the grounding energy of the mountains in the backdrop and the sacred gifts revealed through a dedicated yoga practice, these are the treasures that have continued to help me strengthen and support body, mind and spirit in this journey.

After I posted the video to Facebook last month, Grenadian yogini/teacher/artist Malaika Brooks-Smith-Lowe featured it on her wonderful and inspiring blog, Groundation Grenada: Action Collective

The outpouring of support and encouraging words I’ve received in response to this video have been incredibly humbling, especially since the idea for it was initially conceived as a personal side project to fill my time after passing on my role as editor of Serious Ting. Eventually this process, creative in its essence, led me to realize a new dimension that Yoga has taken on in my life. The practice for me expands now beyond a moving meditation done in private, and has evolved into an invaluable tool for expression of self and emotions… Yoga as Art. How grateful I am to have been given this as a gift that I hope to keep sharing.

one love

camille aragon, yoga artist

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Allison
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 17:27:22

    Camille, this is beautiful!!!
    xoxo, Allison

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2010-2012 Camille Aragon

All Rights Reserved

