Of Dreams and Fears

“Dreams are illustrations… from the book your soul is writing about you.” -Marsha Norman

For years I’ve harbored this fear that I’ll be discovered; a fraud whose accomplishments were never legitimately earned, one of those people who skated by in life with mere luck and coincidence of being in the right place at the right time.

In truth I know these fears are manifestations of insecurities – expressing themselves at times when pressures feel like they’re resting heavy on my chest, making it hard to breathe, and infiltrating into my psyche through the intimacy of my dreams; haunting me until the moment of truth finally passes. The fear of failure and disappointing others is so overwhelming that visions of myself choking under the pressure in a paralysis of anxiety cloud my perspective, and staying sensitive to the world and its needs seems counterproductive to the effort it takes in the struggle to simply stay standing.

In times like these I am most grateful for the kindred souls who’ve crossed my path, and who have been a mirror of truth when reality feels like a whirlwind of tasks and lists and expectations. The friends who see the peace and strength I might not, and remind me of it without even realizing the incredible healing power one snapshot can capture.

photo by Brooke Campbell

Grateful.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tickyherb
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 15:56:00

    This so resonates. We always think that we’re the only ones having our struggles and t’s always never the case. Thank you.

    Reply

  2. Bee
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 09:02:32

    xoxo
    B

    Reply

  3. Chateau King
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 05:45:17

    A person can be considered truly beautiful when their own beauty is reflecting onto others. And you are. And it does.

    Reply

  4. Linda
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 20:28:03

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2010-2012 Camille Aragon

All Rights Reserved

