Sheridon

“I love snapping pictures!” said Sheridon, age 8, holding my four-month-old Canon Rebel T1i.

“I know you do, I can tell!” I said, and smiled at her smiling as she looked through the viewfinder.

At the wedding her family and I attended last week, I had lent Sheridon my point-and-shoot so we could both take pictures.  She ran around in her sparkly yellow dress taking pictures of anything and everything she thought was beautiful.  Clearly she was having one of her best days.

After a while, she came back and said, “Ess-cuse me, I could try that one please?”, referring to the ‘big camera’.

“Of course you can,” I told her and put the camera strap around her neck.  I showed her how to hold it and what button to press, and off she went to snap flowers, the mountains, trees, the sea…

“Maybe you’ll be the next Annie Leibovitz,” I said before we started heading home.

“Who’s Annie Lei-bo-vitz?” Sheridon asked.

“Maybe the most famous photographer in the world,” I answered.

We walked together for a while, neither of us talking, and Sheridon not taking any pictures.

“Do you really think I could be a photographer?” she asked me.

“Of course I do.  I think you could be anything you want.”

When we got home, before I walked up the steps to my house, Sheridon wrapped her arms around me.  “Thank you, thank you, thank you,” she said.

* * *

A few afternoons later I walked down the steps with both of my cameras to see if Sheridon wanted to take a walk with me.  Here’s what we found…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

*photos by Camille Aragon & Sheridon Creese

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Dec 16, 2010 @ 23:56:17

    Both of you are great photographers and got some nice shots 🙂

    Reply

  2. Lew
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 15:27:29

    You both captured a good perspective of your island. Having children take photos of their world (as they see it) might be a good project. A small supply of disposable cameras might be grant-worthy.

    Reply

  3. Brett
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 09:01:54

    Great pictures!
    I’m joining PC St. Vincent and the Grenadines in January of 2011. I have a few questions about packing etc. Let me know if you have regular access to the internet so that I can throw some questions your way.
    brettmburk@gmail.com

    thanks!

    Reply

  4. Christopher Nelson
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 11:37:23

    Wow, serious kudos! I wish I had half the photographing talent as just one of you. Love the stories, keep ’em coming!

    Reply

  5. Linda
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 00:32:46

    Camille! Two days ago, I went to go see the “ANNIE LEIBOVITZ: A PHOTOGRAPHER’s LIFE 1990 – 2005” exhibit at the Museum of Contemporary Art (MCA) here in Sydney and thought of this post 🙂

    Reply

  6. laineeee
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 14:07:40

    wow, those are some amazing candid shots!

    Reply

  7. Lew
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 16:26:25

    That 8 year old has such a great eye for his subject matter along with a very good sense for composition that I hope you have, or will help him understand the difference between ‘snapping’ pictures and composing photographs. Is PC cool with publishing full names of people you are serving?
    BTW, how has your overall experience been with having your “big” camera in addition to your point-and-shoot camera while serving in the PC? I am undecided whether to pack my Canon SLR, because I will be tempted to also pack lenses, filters, tripod, etc. So, I am searching for a high end pocket-size camera that has good zoom, macro, image stabilization and, hopefully, water resistance. Your thoughts/recommendations will be appreciated.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2010-2012 Camille Aragon

All Rights Reserved

